• Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 rluckadoo

rluckadoo

Silver Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Interests:I am a geologist/geophysicist by education and a dredger and detectorist by heart. Recently moved from NC to Colorado with my job. Looking forward to finding lots of Rocky Mountain Gold!!

Posted 07 August 2008 - 03:22 PM

I have a claim that is producing some really fine gold. Actually a large part of the gold is so small that you can't really see individual grains, only a rainbow of gold within and around the black sands in a gold pan. But.....there is a LOT of it in there and I think would be worthwhile to get it out. Just wondering if any of you have any suggestions. I am considering getting set up with a Mercury Retort, but just want to make sure there is no other options. This is REALLY fine gold!!! The finest I have ever seen in my 15 years of dredging and mining. So, my desert fox and the other fine gold trapping products that I have won't work.

Thanks for any advice you may have. Also, if you have tips for amalgamation (before I order the stuff to do it with) let me know. Should be a good topic as I am sure many of you have had this problem before, and many others will in the future.

Thanks in advance for your help!

#2 Mike Furness

Mike Furness

Platinum Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,012 posts
  • Interests:Hunting, Fishing, Metal Detecting, Kayaking

Posted 07 August 2008 - 08:05 PM

Rather than take the obvious health hazard chances with mercury vapor ... especially as it sounds you have never worked with mercury before ... have you considered a good vibration gold table? It will separate out some very small flour gold.

Just my twocents.gif !

Mike

Mike Furness

Opportunity Only Knocks on Doors It Already Knows Are Open To It! Make it a Golden Day!

#3 jagdoctor1

jagdoctor1

10 Karat Gold Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 405 posts