Photo
- - - - -

Recovering flour gold from Concentrates........

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 rluckadoo

rluckadoo

Silver Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Interests:I am a geologist/geophysicist by education and a dredger and detectorist by heart. Recently moved from NC to Colorado with my job. Looking forward to finding lots of Rocky Mountain Gold!!

Posted 28 September 2008 - 12:33 PM

Good Afternoon,

Just wasnted to give you all an update on the flour gold recovery that we discussed a month or so ago. I had asked for advice on the best way to recover some really fine gold from some dredge concentrates that I collected on a trip to CA. I considered Mercury, a shaker table, and a blue bowl. I decided not to go the Mercury rout, and a shaker table was a little too expensive for the small amount of concentrates that I had. Instead, on the recommendation of several of you, I purchased a "blue bowl" to try on the concentrates that I had collected. Well, I finally had an opportunity to get it up and running today and wantd to give a report on the results. I had just under 15 lbs of concentrates that were smaller than a window screen. It took me just under 4 hours to classify and run these concentrates through the bowl.

The blue bowl system was very easy to set up. I purchased the optional leg levelers which made adjusting the bowl a breeze. I classified the "smaller than a window screen" concentrates (I had already picked the pickers out of the larger material) into 30-, 50- and 100- and ran them separately through the bowl.

Here are my observations (and some tips) on the process and how the bowl worked on each classification:

Window screen- to 30 mesh Concentrates: