#1 Blarneystone

Blarneystone

Copper Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • Pip
  • 9 posts

Posted 08 October 2010 - 09:40 AM

Hi all,

I am new to the prospecting. My kids and I have caught gold fever. Where does a new prospector begin finding locations to do weekend gold panning?

We live in the north part of Greensboro and there is a creek up the street. Should I start there?

We went panning at McCulloh in Jamestown recently, but I think they load the gold in the sand. We are looking for a real panning experience.

So where does a new guy find NC Guilford maps on prospecting?

Thanks!

#2 Bill Southern

Bill Southern

Platinum Member

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 10,082 posts
  • Interests:Nugget Shooting, Gold Prospecting, Harley Riding, Chicken Ranching, and Gardening with too many more to list...

Posted 08 October 2010 - 06:32 PM

Here is a little info that may help and welcome to the forum...

Gold was first discovered in Cabarrus County around 1800. This discovery of a 17 pound gold nugget by a twelve year old in Little Meadow Creek prompted the country's first gold rush. Most of North Carolina's gold deposits were subsequently discovered in Stanley, Mecklenburg, Union, Gaston, Rowan, Davidson, and Randolph counties.