Photo
- - - - -

Strange rock found on shores of Lake Erie.

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 HopperJon

HopperJon

Copper Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 07 April 2012 - 10:06 AM

Hello everyone.

I am an avid amateur astronomer but due to financial limitations I haven't really had much time or money to expand my experiences into meteor hunting.

I have however stumbled across this strange rock on the shores of Lake Erie. It came out of the lake, as you can tell by the smooth rock. I'm not sure what to make of it.

If it's a meteorite, what kind? If it's not, how did it form?

After I found your forums , I knew the poeple here would have the experience to be able to provide me with some much needed insight.

Pictures are below, and I can take more if need be. Thank you in advance for your time !!!

Attached Thumbnails

• 2012-03-25 16.06.25.jpg
  • 2012-03-25 16.07.01.jpg

#2 oredigger62

oredigger62

10 Karat Gold Member

• Nugget Shooter Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 467 posts
  • Interests:Anything related to geology or having a geologic base...from rock collecting to gold prospecting to meteorite hunting. Gold , Guns , and Gems. I am also an inventor . If it's on or in the ground i am interested. see me on facebook at : lewismiller62@yahoo.com

Posted 07 April 2012 - 04:18 PM

Hello Jon ,